Tamiya TRF 415 MSX MRE


One of the latest cars that I have, is the Tamiya TRF 415 MSX MRE. Quite a mouth full if you ask me.. I bought the car last year for a bargain, the spares were already more worth than the price I gave it for. It also came with a nice stickpack chassis, which is quite rare to find now.

I haven’t used the chassis for grip racing, only for drifting. And I can say, the car is in good condition. Setting up the car is quite hard to do, as I don’t really have all knowledge to do that lol. But I keep practising and hopefully: getting better. After all the old electronics, I now switched to some high tech stuff; brushless, lipo’s and a 2.4 GHz transmitter. No more short run times for me haha, but more like a hour per lipo battery. Also with the 2.4 GHz transmitters and receivers, the old glitching is gone.

Steering is one of the key elements in RC drifting. I tried to maximise the steering lock on my TRF. I used various parts, like the universal swing shafts which are heavily modifed with the dremal. But also custom FRP plates to get rid off the ackermann effect. I am currently building a new system, since I want to get more lock. At this moment the steering system touches the bulkhead, so I need to find a solution for that.

9 thoughts on “Tamiya TRF 415 MSX MRE

  1. My teammate had one of those..We never quite could get the chassis to drift well. The steering in particular, gave many headaches

    • Hi,
      What kind of steering did you make? I made a steeringsystem out of a m3 rod. Here is a picture for you:

      The standard steering doesn’t give you much lock, but with this it’s quite better šŸ™‚

      ~Ricardo

  2. Looks simple and functional…My teammate was a MSX and not a MRE, my mistake..

    We started this way:

    And this was the version:

    But we never were 100% happy with the results.

  3. I tried similar to your idea, but I ran into the problem that my system always touched the bulkheads. From what car is that carbon shocktower you used? The idea is clever! What I tried with the M3 rod system is to make it parallel. So the wheels always have the same amount of lock. (when you don’t have that it’s called ackermann)

    • Sure, I know what Ackerman is, is that annoying thing we, drifters, always want to get rid of šŸ™‚
      But you still might have some Ackerman. I tried a similar setup on my Cyclone and a “setup guru” said that the only thing that failed on mine was that the holes for the Pittman link(the long turnbuckle) have to be aligned with the . I’m not dissing your system, far from that. I sure know that problems that the 415 gave me to do a decent steering lock

      The shock tower it’s the specific for this chassis. We bought a new one and chop the old one. Copied the holes from the stock link and

      • I think that the last part of your comment is missing or am I wrong?

        I tried a lot of steering systems. In the beginning I used 2 plates of lexan, which actually almost looked like the shape of your carbon shocktower. But with things touching the bulkheads and other problems I went for this M3 rod system. It works for me:) But I think that I will try something new in the future. (ota steering perhaps)

  4. Yes, it’s missing..:) well, what misses is: Copied the holes from the stock link and used the dremel and a 8mm drill bit to finish.

    The OTA steering is a good bet, specially because anyone can get it cheap from R2. Pay attention only on the place to put it. May interfere with the battery. That’s why we don’t went further with our project “Cyclone+r31”

  5. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement
    account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    However, how can we communicate?

  6. Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just
    wondering if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin
    or anything you can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any help is very much appreciated.

Leave a comment